November 18, 2013

Beautiful Reminders: Three Veils of Darkness

Allah, subhana wa ta ala, says in the Qur'an (translation):
"He created you from a single person (Adam); then made from him his wife (Eve). And He has sent down for you of cattle eight pairs (of the sheep, two, male and female; of the goats, two, male and female; of the oxen, two, male and female; and of the camels, two, male and female). He creates you in the wombs of your mothers, creation after creation (in stages) in three veils of darkness, such is Allah your Lord. His is the kingdom, La ilaha illa Huwa (none has the right to be worshipped but He). How then are you turned away?
--Surah Az-Zumar, 39: 6

The Three Veils of Darkness
In the tafsir of Ibn Kathir, it's stated that Ibn Abbas, radiAllahu anhu, as well as others, held that the three veils of darkness refer to the darkness of the mother's belly, the darkness of her womb, and the darkness of her placenta. 

Modern science has confirmed these three veils and also shows us that each one contains three layers of its own, mashaAllah. The abdominal wall (the belly) is composed of the external oblique, the internal oblique, and the transverse abdominus muscles. The three layers of the womb are the epimetrium, the myometrium, and the endometrium. The three layers of the placenta are the amnion (the innermost layer), the allantois (the middle layer), and the chorion (the outermost layer).

In addition, life in utero happens in three distinct stages: the pre-embryonic stage (when cells are dividing and settling themselves into the uterus), the embryonic stage (when the settled cells become the basic organs and systems of the baby's body), and the foetal stage (when the foetus begins to resemble a human until it is born). 

"La ilaha illa Huwa (none has the right to be worshipped but He). How then are you turned away?

1 comment:

  1. Subhanallah! Beautiful reminder :)